We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Regional Party elections

English Council elections 2022

Nominations have closed for eighteen members of the English Council, to serve until 31 December 2022.

Sixteen valid nominations were received and the following members were therefore declared elected:

  • Adam Robertson
  • Iain C. Smith
  • Jamie Lea
  • John Shreeve
  • Jon Whitehouse
  • Josephine Hayes
  • Kenneth Symon
  • Kieron Franks
  • Lorraine Flawn
  • Mary Regnier-Wilson
  • Roger Gardner
  • Sarah Marsh
  • Stephen Bowering
  • Stephen Robinson
  • Victor Scrivens
  • Zoe Hollowood

The English Council oversees the work of the Liberal Democrats in England and sets membership and candidate selection rules. It is made up of representatives of the eleven English regional parties and the Young Liberals and meets two or three times a year on a Saturday (usually online or in London).

The next meeting is expected to take place online on Saturday 26 March (was previously 5 March).

You can read a detailed description of the English Council's responsibilities in the Party in England Constitution [PDF] which you can download from libdems.org.uk/constitution.

The Returning Officer was John Macrory of London Region. Enquiries may be submitted to ro@eastlibdems.org.uk.

The regional team is always looking for new people to play a part in running the party. If you feel you have skills to offer especially in administration, event organisation or online campaigning or would like to train as a Returning Officer for candidate selections or as an election agent please contact info@eastlibdems.org.uk.

Regional elections 2020

The results of the regional elections held in December 2020 are below. The next elections for regional officers and committee will take place in November or December 2022.

The following candidates were elected unopposed:

  • Secretary - Lorraine Flawn
  • Treasurer - Sally Symington
  • President - Lord Foster of Bath
  • Regional Executive (elected by Young Liberal members, 2 places) - Jake Sampson, Kieron Franks
  • Campaigns Committee (3 places) - Simon Banks, Christian Hogg, Stephen Robinson
  • Conference Committee (4 places) - Peter Chivall, Paul Daley, Victor Scrivens, John Shreeve

Contested elections

The candidates successfully elected following contested elections were:

  • Chair: Lucy Nethsingha
  • Vice-Chair: John Shreeve
  • Chair of the Regional Candidates Committee: Josephine Hayes
  • Regional Executive (12 places): Simon Banks, Paul "Billy" Boulton, Nick Hollinghurst, Christian Hogg, Ian Horner, Linda Jack, John Mercer, Adam Robertson, Callum Robertson, James Sandbach, Victor Scrivens, Freja Waterhouse
  • Candidates Committee (2 places): Linda Jack, Jon Whitehouse
  • Candidates Committee (2 places for former candidates): Dominic Graham, James Sandbach
  • Policy Committee (3 places): Michael Kilpatrick, John Mercer, James Sandbach
  • Development Committee (3 places): Simon Banks, Dominic Graham, James Sandbach
  • English Council representatives (18 places): Paul Clark, Lorraine Flawn, Kieron Franks, Dominic Graham, Josephine Hayes, Susan Holland, Nick Hollinghurst, Ian Horner, Linda Jack, John Mercer, Callum Robertson, Stephen Robinson, James Sandbach, Victor Scrivens, John Shreeve, Sally Symington, Joe Toovey, Jon Whitehouse

Further information

The deadline for nomination forms to be returned was 2pm on Saturday 14 November.

Terms of office for all posts except English Council representative are 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2022 (two years). English Council representatives served from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2021 (one year).


Click here to find out more about the roles and responsibilities of officers

  • Chair of East of England Liberal Democrats
  • Vice Chair
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Chair of the Regional Candidates Committee
  • President of the East of England Liberal Democrats

Regional Executive

Click here to find out more about the roles and responsibilities of the regional executive and committees

  • 12 ordinary members of the regional executive
  • One member of the regional executive elected by principal councillors

The regional executive also has two places elected by Young Liberals.

Campaigns Committee

  • Three ordinary members of the campaigns committee

Candidates Committee

  • Two ordinary members of the candidates committee
  • Two recent PPC or PEPC members of the candidates committee

Conference Committee

  • Four ordinary members of conference committee

Development Committee

  • Three ordinary members of development committee

Policy Committee

  • Thee ordinary members of policy committee

English Council

Returning Officer

The Returning Officer was John Macrory of London Region. Enquiries may be submitted to ro@eastlibdems.org.uk


Elections are run in accordance with the East of England election rules, which can be downloaded here [PDF].

Useful links