We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Unite to Remain agreement in Chelmsford - Green Party stands aside

November 7, 2019 3:18 PM
Originally published by Chelmsford Liberal Democrats

ballot-boxThe Green Party has agreed to step aside for the Liberal Democrats in the Chelmsford constituency, it was announced today.

As part of Unite to Remain, the Liberal Democrats have made an arrangement with The Green Party and Plaid Cymru to step aside for pro-Remain candidates in 60 seats across England and Wales.

Across the country the Liberal Democrats will stand aside in 13 constituencies so that there is a clear pro-Remain candidate. In turn, in 43 constituencies other parties will stand aside for a Liberal Democrat candidate.

Welcoming today's announcement, Liberal Democrat candidate for Chelmsford, Marie Goldman said:

"This is an exciting day for all those in Chelmsford who are committed to stopping Brexit.

"I am thankful to the local Green Party for helping us reach this historic agreement.

"It is clear that the Liberal Democrats are the strongest party of Remain in Chelmsford, as well as hundreds of other seats across the country.

"A vote for the Liberal Democrats is a vote to stop Brexit, invest the £50bn Remain bonus in our public services, tackle climate change, and build a brighter future."

Please find the full list of seats below


Liberal Democrats standing aside for Green Party: Brighton, Pavilion, Isle of Wight, Bristol West, Bury St Edmunds, Stroud, Dulwich and West Norwood, Forest of Dean, Cannock Chase, Exeter (9)

Green Party standing aside for Liberal Democrats: Bath, Bermondsey and Old Southwark, Buckingham, Cheadle, Chelmsford, Chelsea and Fulham, Cheltenham, Chippenham, Esher and Walton, Finchley and Golders Green, Guildford, Harrogate and Knaresborough, Hazel Grove, Hitchin and Harpenden, North Cornwall, North Norfolk, Oxford West and Abingdon, Penistone and Stocksbridge, Portsmouth South, Richmond Park, Romsey and Southampton, North Rushcliffe, South Cambridgeshire, South East Cambridgeshire, South West Surrey, Southport, Taunton Deane, Thornbury and Yate, Totnes, Tunbridge Wells, Twickenham, Wantage, Warrington South, Watford, Wells, Westmorland and Lonsdale, Wimbledon, Winchester, Witney ,York Outer, (40)


Liberal Democrats ad Plaid Cymru standing aside for Green Party: Vale of Glamorgan (1)

Green Party and Plaid Cymru standing aside for Liberal Democrats: Brecon and Radnorshire, Cardiff Central, Montgomeryshire (3)

Green Party and Liberal Democrats standing aside for Plaid Cymru: Arfon, Caerphilly, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr Dwyfor, Meirionnydd, Llanelli, Pontypridd, Ynys Môn (7)

In addition to these arrangements, we can confirm that we are also stepping aside in three further seats: Beaconsfield, Broxtowe, Luton South